Twyford secured an unbeaten season on Saturday after defeating Compton & Chandlers Ford II by 10 wickets. The club played 12 games this season, averaging 23.17 points a game (maximum 24). We are unsure of the last time Twyford went a whole season undefeated, and we are certain that this season broke many records!

Jon Bance scored 646 runs from 9 innings, with a high score of 146 at an average of 92.28. Bance scored 3 tons and 2 fifties and will certainly be near the top of the league’s averages. Not to be outdone, Alex Reidy scored 547 runs from 9 innings, averaging 78.14. Reidy hit what is believed to be Twyford’s only ever 200 in a 42 over game, scoring 205 not out against St Marys. Tony Butcher played just 5 games, but this was enough to score 298 runs at an average of 74.5 including 3 fifties and high score of 97.

There were an astonishing 4 partnerships of 150 or more, with Reidy and Bance combining for 322 runs against St Marys and 241 against East Woodhay II. Twyford scored over 300 three times, including one score of 389-2 in 42 overs!

On the bowling front, Tom Ducker took a staggering 46 wickets in 107 overs, at an average of just 6.46 runs per wicket. He recorded a best of 6-21 against second placed Silchester and took a total of five 5-wicket hauls. John Paine, as ever, finished the season with tidy statistics, taking 19 wickets at 11.42 from 62.1 overs.

The club should be very proud of what the team has achieved this year, with current and ex-Colts playing regularly. The average age of the team was always low, with around 7 players under the age of 25 on any given week. We are a family club and that was shown with the Bance brothers, the Nicholas brothers and father-son duo Matt and John Paine all playing together.

2016 squad: Nick Moreland (cpt, wkt), Tom Andrews, Jon Bance, Simon Bance, George Bell, Wyatt Brennan, Tony Butcher, Joe Butterfield, Anthony Croucher, Tom Ducker, Alex Johnson, Mike McKenzie, Lee Nicholas, Robert Nicholas, John Paine, Matt Paine, Will Paterson, Nick Ranger, Alex Reidy, Bobby Smith, Andy Thorne, Kevin West.

Back Row (L to R): Alex Reidy, Nick Ranger, Robert Nicholas, Wyatt Brennan, Nobby Bance (umpire), Matt Paine, Tony Butcher.
Front Row (L to R): Kevin West, Mike McKenzie, Nick Moreland (cpt, wkt), John Paine, Tom Ducker.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *